The Ancient Historian

Ancient history, mountaineering, cycling and other outside adventures

Ed Viesturs with great wisdom

I guess it is an Ed Viesturs theme night for me. I came across this video, and it contains such good advice I think, not just for Rainier but for any mountain. Like he says, “No shortcuts to the top.” It is awfully easy to to push too hard when you have enthusiasm for getting some mountains under your belt, and I love what he says here. Same goes with descents. Hard to find an analogy with cycling, but one comes to mind, and that’s when you are in a group ride and someone is pushing at the front. It is often easy to let your guard down and to follow mindlessly without realizing that the person can push you beyond where you should be going. I’ve seen a lot of crashes that way. Both sports, it seems to me, require great self control, and thinking.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

