The Ancient Historian

Ancient history, mountaineering, cycling and other outside adventures

Getting in shape for Kili

As part of my September plans to climb Kili, my first big mountain, I am planing to do a lot of serious hiking over the Summer, and of course lots of base fitness from cycling. I am also heading out to Colorado to do some 14’ers (14,000 ft mountains) with a friend to get some experience with altitude. I already  know that above 10,000 ft there are no guarantees, and your body can do some odd things. The more experience the better. Lots of celebrities have been doing Kili in recent years (even Tony Hayward of BP fame, describing some of the difficulty), so many in fact that it almost trivializes the mountain. But that would be deceptive I think. Anyway, I am looking forward to the long and continued journey of self-discovery that proper training demands, and of course, looking forward to the memories that will result. As Alan Arnette always stresses in his campaign to raise funds for Alzheimer’s research, “Memories are Everything.” I am also planning a couple of weeks of backpacking/camping on the John Muir Trail (JMT) in California. Gorgeous part of the country. I ought to be as fit as I can get by the end of August. That’s the plan anyway! I’ve also got a couple of books to write. It’s going to be a great few months. Stay tuned. And consider donating to the Cure Alzheimer’s Fund in Alan’s name.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

